Lunch at Bento Ya Masako

Though I have lived in Upstate NY most of my life, today was the first time I have ever eaten at Bento Ya Masako.  It would be easy to miss this little gem because the only identification that there is a restaurant is a small folding sign on the sidewalk.  Behind the sign is a green door that leads you to the second floor where the “restaurant” is located.  This, in itself, is unique because all other Corning restaurants are on the street-level.

The restaurant had approximately 6-10 tables and behind the counter was the small one-stove kitchen where every dish was made individually by the owners.

Not knowing what to order, I decided to try the Yakiniku Bento which was comprised of spicy beef stir-fried with cooked cabbage, carrot with hijiki, cucumber salad, and rice.

The price was $8 which included free, help yourself, tea.  The serving size was very generous.

Overall, I was very pleased with my lunch at Bento and will definitely be eating there again!  Om nom nom!

Yakiniku Bento

Yakiniku Bento

Leave a comment