How to hard-reset a BlackBerry Tour 9630

Press the alt, right shift, and del keys at the same time.  The screen will flash white with black text on it for a second and then the reboot will begin.  Go have a cup of coffee and by the time you’re done, your BlackBerry might be done booting (takes around 5 minutes for me).

BlackBerry Tour 9630

41 comments on “How to hard-reset a BlackBerry Tour 9630

  1. It’s not working, after the reboot the screen is white with a little black clock on the center………..:(

  2. On my Tour I can’t get to Options to do a master reset. A soft reset does not fix my issue. What I want to do is complete factory master reset and wipe the device. How can I do this if I can’t get to the options menu? I don’t see a reset button and can’t find a keystroke to perform when it is coming up.

  3. I have a Tour 9630 that I need to remove or reset to factory settings. This was a company phone and managed by a BES and retained its security settings along with unable to change grayed out sections. How do I clean as if I just purchased the phone from Verizon

  4. Hey Tom,

    Tried the reboot after I attempted to upload a Twitter app to my device. Screen went black then AFTER your reboot procedure all I get is a white screen with text in the middle of the screen that says, “Reload Software: 552”! Just above that is a rectangle with a circle, square and triangle image with that “crossed-off” or “not allowed” symbol over it. Any suggestions?? I’ve tried the reboot several times and this is what keeps happening. Sorry if this is confusing.

  5. P.S. I’ve also tried doing the hard reboot by taking a paperclip and inserting into the reset button in the back of the phone. Still no go ;(

  6. On the Tour that my customer has, the EMail Setup does not offer the option to create a new account. I am wondering if this “reset” will bring that back.

    The phone is on the PagePlus network (a Verizon MVNO ). I am hoping that this limitation is not because Verizon has locked out PagePlus from using their BlackBerry backend.

  7. Hi .The reset is not working using the keys advised. I have done a wipe but am still experiencing the same browser problems. The problem im having is that Youtube vids will not play and when downloading i used to be able to open a file before saving it .Now i only have the yes and no options.Please help.

  8. i plugged my blackberry tour into my laptop and it keeps connecting & reconnecting I tried the take the battery out and again I used alt delete right shift altogether nothing happening yet only been 3 minutes,,,

  9. i have tour 9630 but the network is not ok . how can i do reset the network to have a better network in nigeria. i will be glad if you can help me out

  10. Hi!
    I have a BB Tour 9630. Recently it restarted itself but never recovered from the restart. Black screen only with the LED flashing once, then four more times. (Flash, flash flash flash flash). Thorough searching of the net has been unsuccessful in finding a cure…. hopefully, until now 😉
    Any help would be Awesome.
    Thanks,
    ynot

  11. i canot use my blackberry 9630 storm im outside USA.the phone canot check for my countrys network service providers and i canot check the balance on my account

  12. my bb 9630 i got it in the states and move to central america and i got it activated but all of a sudden when i try to get music from my friends bb curve i get a massege saying the file is to large and its only a 5mb song please tell me what happens??

  13. sir…. i have a bb 9630, and evrytime i turn it on it always says on d screen “application error reset” den it will reopen again and still dat phrase appears on my screen… any solution could u share??

  14. sir/ma’am…. i have a bb 9630, the problem is wen i turn it on it appears on the screen a phrase “application error restart” den my phone will restart again and it still appears it happens many time until now i cant use my phone… what should i do? any idea or solution to fix my phone??

  15. I jst recently encounter a problem on my blackberry 9630 which stated “uncaught exception index 8>=8” and also further display app error 523 Reset. What shall I do?

  16. i am trying to do a factory reset on blackberry tour 9630 and i go to security options, but no general options. can you explain to me how to fix this?

  17. Pls my bb tour is not browsing and I have tried 3 different network on it., pls it is verizon brand I really need your help guys..

  18. Please my Blackberry Tour is freezing up during booting, after it might have loaded to 3/4 and it will just freeze up. Please anyone to help me out now.

  19. Tried the reboot after I attempted to upload a Twitter app to my device. Screen went black then AFTER your reboot procedure all I get is a white screen with text in the middle of the screen that says, “Reload Software: 552”! Just above that is a rectangle with a circle, square and triangle image with that “crossed-off” or “not allowed” symbol over it. Any suggestions?? I’ve tried the reboot several times and this is what keeps happening. Sorry if this is confusing.

Leave a comment