PeopleSoft: Finding the Navigation Path

When a process name is known:

SELECT DISTINCT
PRCS.PRCSTYPE,
PRCS.PRCSNAME,
PRCS.DESCR,
PAGE.PNLGRPNAME as Component,
‘Home > ‘ || RTRIM(M.MENUGROUP) || ‘ > ‘ || RTRIM(M.MENULABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || RTRIM(ITEM.BARLABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || ITEM.ITEMLABEL as Location
FROM PSMENUDEFN M,
PSMENUITEM ITEM,
PS_PRCSDEFNPNL PAGE,
PS_PRCSDEFN PRCS
WHERE M.MENUNAME = ITEM.MENUNAME
AND ITEM.PNLGRPNAME = PAGE.PNLGRPNAME
AND PAGE.PRCSTYPE = PRCS.PRCSTYPE
AND PAGE.PRCSNAME = PRCS.PRCSNAME
AND PRCS.PRCSNAME = ‘process-name

When a component name is known:

SELECT DISTINCT PRCS.PRCSTYPE , PRCS.PRCSNAME , PRCS.DESCR ,
PAGE.PNLGRPNAME as Component , ‘Home > ‘ || RTRIM(MENU.MENUGROUP) || ‘ > ‘ ||
RTRIM(MENU.MENULABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || RTRIM(ITEM.BARLABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || ITEM.ITEMLABEL as MenuPath
FROM PSMENUDEFN MENU , PSMENUITEM ITEM , PS_PRCSDEFNPNL PAGE , PS_PRCSDEFN PRCS
WHERE MENU.MENUNAME = ITEM.MENUNAMEAND ITEM.PNLGRPNAME = PAGE.PNLGRPNAME
AND PAGE.PRCSTYPE = PRCS.PRCSTYPE
AND PAGE.PRCSNAME = PRCS.PRCSNAME
AND PAGE.PNLGRPNAME = ‘component-name

When a record name is known:

SELECT DISTINCT PFLD.RECNAME ,
PFLD.PNLNAME as Page , ‘Home > ‘ || RTRIM(MENU.MENUGROUP) || ‘ > ‘ ||
RTRIM(MENU.MENULABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || RTRIM(ITEM.BARLABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || ITEM.ITEMLABEL as MenuPath
FROM PSMENUDEFN MENU , PSMENUITEM ITEM , PSPNLGROUP COMP , PSPNLFIELD PFLD
WHERE MENU.MENUNAME = ITEM.MENUNAME
AND ITEM.PNLGRPNAME = COMP.PNLGRPNAME
AND COMP.PNLNAME = PFLD.PNLNAME
AND PFLD.RECNAME = ‘record-name

When a page name is known:

SELECT DISTINCT COMP.PNLNAME as Page , ‘Home > ‘ ||
RTRIM(MENU.MENUGROUP) || ‘ > ‘ || RTRIM(MENU.MENULABEL) || ‘ > ‘ ||
RTRIM(ITEM.BARLABEL) || ‘ > ‘ || ITEM.ITEMLABEL as MenuPath
FROM PSMENUDEFN MENU , PSMENUITEM ITEM , PSPNLGROUP COMP
WHERE MENU.MENUNAME = ITEM.MENUNAME
AND ITEM.PNLGRPNAME = COMP.PNLGRPNAME
AND COMP.PNLNAME = ‘page-name

Source: http://jmcmahon33.blogspot.com/2007/12/finding-menu-path.html

One comment on “PeopleSoft: Finding the Navigation Path

  1. Hi Tom,

    You seem like a guru on PeopleSoft. I have come across tables but unable to interpret. Could you please help me to interpret? Based on the information on the table, can I conclude that Isabel can perform MIGRATION as she has an AUTHORIZEDACTIONS of “3”, UPDATE (based on AUTHORIZEDACTIONS value of “4”) RECORD? I would be most grateful if you can help. I am unable to attach a file and hence, please forgive the unformatted file below. Is there anyway I can send you a file? Thank you. Lu

    OPRID CLASSID ROLECLASS MENUNAME BARNAME BARITEMNAME PNLITEMNAME DISPLAYONLY AUTHORIZEDACTIONS
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER FIELD_FORMAT 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER SQL 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER SYSCOLOR 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER STYLESHEET 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER RECORD 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER PROJECT 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER PROBTYPE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER PAGE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER MOBILEPAGE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER MESSAGE_NODE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER CHANNEL 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER MESSAGE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER MENU 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER IMAGE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER HTML 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER FILELAYOUT 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER DBFIELD 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER UPGRADE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER TOOLBAR 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER COMPONENTINTERFACE 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER COMPONENT 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER BUSINESSPROCESS 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER INTERFACE_OBJECT 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER APPRRULESET 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER DATA_ADMINISTRATION 0 4
    ISABEL MIGRATION MIGRATION APPLICATION_DESIGNER CHANGE_CONTROL 0 3

Leave a comment